Gearing up for Week 5

After week four, my fantasy record is 2-2. Coming up on week five, I am finally getting the hang of how to create a strong lineup. Here are some basics for you other newbies out there.

First, check which players have a bye-week and bench them.

For example, this week my running back Mikel Leshoure from the Detroit Lions has a bye so he is going on the bench.

Next up, check your roster for players who are injured. The Bleacher Report has an injury report every week. Also, check out Fantasy News which has a live Twitter feed for more up to date information about player injuries.

Here is the injury report for my players this week:

  • Nate Kaeding [kicker – San Diego Chargers] out with a groin injury, not expected to play.
  • Christian Ponder [quarterback – Minnesota Vikings] limited practice with knee injury, questionable whether he will play.
  • LeSean McCoy [running back – Philadelphia Eagles] rib injury, will most likely play.
  • Santonio Holmes [wide receiver – New York Jets] injury reserve, out for the season.

After checking my injury list, I visit CBS Sports Fantasy News. Here, I read the fantasy analysis for each of my players. This gives me a better idea of their strength as a fantasy player and how difficult their match-up will be that week.

With this information in mind, I start rearranging my team.

Let’s take a look at my running backs this week. Leshoure has a bye so that leaves me with McCoy and DeAngelo Williams. McCoy has been strong so I will definitely start him. Williams has been doing poorly this season and he has a tough match-up against the Seahawks this week. Since Williams looks like a weak choice, I am considering dropping him and picking up a new running back.

If I want to pick up a new player, first I check which running backs are still available in my league. Then, I visit several waiver wires to get advice on who is worth picking up. Here are some wavier wires I’ve found useful:

  • FantasySharks This is a good blog for suggestions about who to pick up, drop, bench and start.
  • KFFL I like this waiver wire blog because you can search easily by a player’s position.
  • Razzball This is a thorough blog with advice on who to start and who to pick up. It also has general fantasy news.
  • Rotoworld Chris Wessling of NBC Sports ranks top players by position every Tuesday during the season.

After some research on various waiver wires, I decided to drop Williams and pick up running back Cedric Benson from the Green Bay Packers.

After some further rearranging, I have created my lineup for week five, which you can see below.

Leave a Reply

